Knowledge Base

Article ID: 347 | Category: General Questions | Type: Hot Fix | Last Modified: 11/25/2015

The "The license %SN% is already in use by the user %username%" message appears at the launch

Description

When I launch the application, the folowing message appears:

Some of the licenses cannot be accessed. The license %SN% is already in use by the user %username% on the workstation %workstation name%.

Reason

This message appears because an instance of ABBYY Lingvo x3\x5\x6 is already running on a computer in your local network, and that instance is using the license specified in the message.

One license cannot be used on two computers simultaneously. This is reflected in section 3 of the End-User License Agreement (EULA) of ABBYY Lingvo x3\ABBYY Lingvo x5\ABBYY Lingvo x6. You can view the EULA by opening the Help menu and going to Help Topics (F1) -> Appendix -> End-User License Agreement (EULA).

Solution

In order to launch the application on your computer, you will first have to close it on the computer %workstation name% by opening the Translate menu and clicking Exit. You can also uninstall a license from one of the two conflicting computers and activate another license on that computer. If you do that, each computer will have its own license, enabling you to run the application on both machines simultaneously.

You can find instructions on uninstalling licenses here.

435 people think this is helpful.
Was this information helpful to you?